PSL4: Galdiators seal berth in final with 10-run victory over Zalmi


    Quetta Gladiators reserved a coveted spot in the final of the 2019 Pakistan Super League with a 10-run victory against Peshawar Zalmi at the National Stadium in Karachi.
    Zalmi, who were chasing a 197-run target set by the Gladiators, managed to score 176 runs by the end of their 20 overs.
    The ‘Yellow Storm’ as they are known were 107-5 at the end of 15 overs in pursuit of the 187-run target set by Quetta Gladiators in the first qualifier of the Pakistan Super League 2019 at National Stadium Karachi.
    KA Pollard at 19 runs is batting alongside Zalmi skipper Darren Sammy (7).
    The first wicket for Zalmi fell in the sixth over of the innings with Kamran Akmal out at 22.
    The Gladiators finished their innings at 186-6. Shane Watson led the scoreboard with a 71-run knock followed by Ahsan Ali with 46 runs.
    Wahab Riaz picked up two wickets for Zalmi while Sameen Gul, KA Pollard, TS Mills and Hasan Ali each picked up a single wicket.
    Earlier, after Zalmi won the toss and opted to field first, they dealt an early blow to the Gladiators, dismissing their in-form opener Ahmed Shehzad (1 off 4 balls) in just the 2nd over.
    Thankfully, the two-time finalists are stacked in in-form-openers department. With Shehzad gone, Watson took charge, hitting Peshawar Zalmi bowlers almost at will. Watson and Ali took the score to 53-1 after 5 overs and 96-1 after 10.
    Line-upsQuetta XI: Shane Watson, Ahmed Shehzad, Ahsan Ali, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed (capt. and wk), Rilee Rossouw, Mohammad Nawaz, Dwayne Bravo, Mohammad Hasnain, Sohail Tanvir, Fawad Ahmed
    Peshawar XI: Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal (wk), Sohaib Maqsood, Misbah-ul-Haq, Liam Dawson, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy (capt.), Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Tymal Mills, Sameen Gul